top of page
Search

Sustainable Luxury Experiences in Oslo – Part 1

Who hasn't dreamed of going around the world? Who doesn't want to recharge their batteries for a weekend or a short week away from their daily routine? Actually, who doesn't like to travel?


Today I wanted to address a thorny and debatable subject. Is it possible to travel without impacting the planet? As you know, our travel has an impact on the environment. But do we change our behaviour? Should we ban the plane and be ashamed to take it like the Finns with the "flygskam" which is about to become a global phenomenon?


Everyone who knows me knows that Scandinavia has fascinated me since I was a child. Indeed, this region located in Northern Europe and crossed by the Arctic Circle has always attracted me for its culture, its lifestyle, its food, its decoration but also its vast wilderness and its preserved Nature despite its harsh climate.




I have always been intrigued by these Scandinavian countries, ahead of their time, especially in terms of the environment and ecology compared to us French people. My heart is in the countryside. Since I was born, I have always been surrounded by an abundant, flourishing nature to conquer the forests that were nearby my home, whether running, walking or climbing trees.





This spirit of conquest and travel led me to want to discover Norway. Going there yes, but in a responsible way and as ecologically as possible. The dilemma? Not lose a quality of service and comfort. It can be described as a very fashionable eco-luxury trip.

So today I'm taking you with me to discover a part of Norway in an eco-responsible way. Are you ready to go? So here we go!





Welcome to Oslo, the Green Capital of Europe 2019!


Located in the heart of Scandinavia, Oslo is a city that is rich in every respect. Bordered by the fjord and wooded hills, Oslo has been awarded the title of 2019 European Green Capital for the quality of its environmental record and anti-pollution policy.




What I loved about this trip was that you can walk, walk a lot and very easily. The city center is particularly suitable for pedestrians and cyclists. There are many districts where cars are prohibited, which allows pedestrians and bicycles to move around easily.




Personally, when I travel, I would much rather discover a city on foot than take public transport. It has more charm and then you can get lost, discover small streets, hidden coffee shops or even cute little shops.



In addition to being green, discovering the city by foot allows, in my opinion, to better feel the vibes, to discover the culture and its specificities but above all to be as close as possible to the local people to exchange with them.



I must tell you that when I travel, my greatest interest is also to discover food. Eating is life and I find that discovering a culture is very much about food. And then eating local is important, we favour short circuits because it's more sustainable.


In Oslo, the gastronomic scene is constantly developing with new and original ideas, where many are revisiting traditional Norwegian products. There are also several catering areas with shared counters and tables such as the Mathallen which considered as the THE GOURMET DISTRICT.




Today I wanted to tell you about a restaurant that really made a difference to me during my trip to Oslo. I had an extraordinary experience. If you want a unique gastronomic experience that combines refinement and durability, I recommend a single restaurant:


The three-star Maaemo in the Michelin guide! When I think about it, it was wonderful.




Maaemo is the first restaurant in Norway to serve only dishes made with organic food and natural ingredients. The restaurant exclusively serves a playful seasonal tasting menu that vary day to day. But no worries, everyone can benefit. We eat meat, fish, poultry, vegetables, berries and herbs of excellent quality, supplied by Norwegian producers.


Just for the anecdote the name of the restaurant is really well thought: Maaemo – an old Norse word meaning «Mother Earth»!



The kitchen is perched above the room and the spiral staircase where you can see the waiters scrolling

What I liked about this restaurant was that in addition to favouring authentic and natural products, chef Esben Holmboe Bang created a unique global experience: a culinary trip to Norway!

If you have the chance to eat there, I assure that the meal is going to transport you on a breathtaking culinary tour of Norway. There is a focus on reflecting the changing seasons and the raw nature of Norway.



Langoustines, peas and a cream of asparagus

This is made possible thanks to the wonderful waiters who bring their personal touch to the dishes. For each dish they tell you a story and transport you from the temperate climes of the southerly Hvaler islands to the cold pristine waters of Norway's West Coast and on to the expansive inland wilderness of Røros. The tastes of Norway are brought to life on the plate.


And there, 4 hours later, the waffles in the shape of a heart came with typical brown cheese, cream and jams of blackcurrant and local berries. It wa crazy ! Pure and hard delicacy.


There is a unique purpose at Maaemo: the products are transcended to make Norway shine. We come out of it very emotional.


The +:

The restaurant has just eight tables in the main dining room as well as a private Test Kitchen table, which has a direct view of the chefs at work and the modern skyline of Bjørvika.


It was an incredible experience I never had before. I wanted to thank Gauthier, the French maître de salle for all the stories told and all the good vibes that made the moment even more memorable. He often talked about an important element: umami, the taste that makes you salivate. You can tell me about it!!!!!!


Price - Seasonal Menu 3000 kr which represent 295,59 € without the drinks. If you don’t drink alcohol, I suggest you to take the juice selections for 950 kr (=93,58€). If you do you need to add 1800kr (= 177,32€)


To sum up


You want to stay in a city, but without the crowd, while being a stone's throw from a fjord and the forest? Do you want to walk in streets without cars, eat in an organic gourmet restaurant and enjoy a lot of activities? Then Oslo is for you (and for me too lol)! Run with your eyes closed, you won't regret it! 


I hope you enjoyed this first article and that it allowed you to discover Oslo as a green pedestrian city and a culinary travel with a gastronomic experience through Norway. Next article I will talk about all the green activities in Oslo.


LUCY

Our Recent Posts

bottom of page